According to state law, Georgia car insurance requirements are set at 25/50/25, which means that you will need:
- a minimum of $25,000 of bodily injury liability for one person in one accident;
- a minimum of $50,000 bodily injury liability for all persons in one accident; and
- a minimum of $25,000 property damage liability for one accident.
This is the bare minimum of insurance coverage that you will need to drive a motor vehicle in Georgia. The state does not require motorists to carry personal injury protection (PIP) insurance, nor uninsured motorist coverage (UM).
Therefore, if you are injured in a car accident in Georgia, your Georgia car insurance will cover your damages up to the limits of your policy depending on fault. Since Georgia is a fault state (as opposed to a no-fault state), the at-fault party's insurance will be responsible for paying for your damages.
This compensation may cover your medical expenses, as well as compensate you for any pain or suffering that you have experienced, as well as lost wages.
If you have questions about your car insurance coverage after a serious accident, you can consult a Peachtree City personal injury attorney. An experienced attorney can help go over your insurance policy and explain your legal options.
To learn more about Georgia car insurance requirements, visit our article library.
Contacting a Peachtree City Personal Injury Attorney
When filing a Georgia personal injury claim, it is important to have an experienced professional on your side. As the victim of a Georgia accident, you have rights that the insurance companies cannot ignore. While they have a team of lawyers working on their side, shouldn't you have experienced legal representation fighting for your best interests? Before accepting any settlement offer, contact the Law Offices of Jason Schultz to schedule a FREE consultation on your case - 404-474-0804