If you want to operate a moped or scooter in Georgia, you’ll need to abide by the state’s rules to avoid citations. Georgia moped laws separate along two categories of mopeds (scooters): mopeds with an engine size of less than 51 cubic centimeters (cc), and those 51cc and over.
Georgia Laws for Mopeds Less Than 50cc
If you have a moped with an engine size of 51cc or higher, you’ll need a Class M license. The four basic requirements for a Class M are listed below.
- You must be at least 17 years old. (If you’ve not yet 18, your parents must sign your driver’s license application.)
- You have to score at least a 15/20 on a Knowledge Exam. This exam has two parts: the Road Rules Test and the Road Signs Test.
- You have to pass a Road Test, which assesses your control of the motorcycle and your hazard-response skills.
- You have to pass a Vision Exam.
When applying for your Class M, you will need to bring certain documents including proof of identity, your Social Security card, applicable fees, and either attendance records or your high school diploma or equivalent if you’re under 18.
As an alternative to the above requirements for obtaining your Class M, you can complete the Georgia Motorcycle Safety Program Basic Course. If you successfully finish the course, you can present the 90-day License Test Waiver the instructor gives you to a Department of Driver Services (DDS) Customer Service Center, pass your Vision test, pay your fees, and obtain your license.
Georgia Laws for Mopeds Greather Than 50cc
If your moped’s engine is 50cc or less, Georgia moped laws do not require you to have a Class M license. Small mopeds are exempt from the regular licensing and registration/tag rules.
The DDS does provide a few specific rules you’ll still need to follow in order to legally operate a moped 50cc or less.
- You have to at least 15 years old and carry your driver’s license or permit on you while operating the moped.
- You have to wear a motorcycle helmet.
- You have to obey the same traffic rules that other motor vehicles follow.
- You cannot ride on roadways where the minimum speed limit is greather than 35 mph.
Safety First: Take a Moped Training Course
Regardless of the size of your moped or your desired method of obtaining your Class M (if applicable), it’s highly advisable to take a basic motorcycle riders course, such as with the Georgia Motorcycle Safety Program (GMSP). Inexperience and poor skills are some of the main contributing factors to moped accidents; taking a moped safety/skills course could greatly reduce your risks.
Apart from Georgia moped laws, you’ll learn how to properly turn and brake the moped, how to safely maneuver it, how to negotiate traffic situations, and what protective gear to wear, among other important topics. To learn more about the GMSP, you can contact the Atlanta DDS at 678-413-8400.
Learn How An Attorney Can Help Moped Drivers
For more information about topics related to motor vehicles and traffic safety, such as Georgia moped laws, feel free to visit our accident information blog.
If you have legal questions regarding a moped accident, call the law office of Jason Schultz for a consultation on vehicle accidents. You are welcomed to contact us today at 404-474-0804 for a free consultation.