Go to navigation Go to content
Phone: (404) 474-0804
Jason R. Schultz P.C

Q:
What Are the Requirements to Get a Motorcycle License in Georgia

A:

You must have either a Class M (motorcycle) license or a Class MP (motorcycle learner’s permit) to operate a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle on Georgia roadways. Your age determines what kind of license you can get:

  • If you are 16 years old, you can only get a Class MP permit.
  • If you are 17, you can get a regular Class M motorcycle license, but your parents must sign your application.
  • If you are 18 or older, you can get a Class M license.

The requirements for a Class MP and Class M motorcycle license differ, though generally require submitting proper documents, passing written exams, and passing a road test.

How Do I Get a Class MP Motorcycle Learner’s Permit?

You must pass these tests to get your Class MP license:

  • Vision test
  • Motorcycle Knowledge Exam. You take this exam after successfully completing a motorcycle Basic Riders Course (BAC), which includes classroom time, a knowledge exam, and a skills test. The course currently costs $250 for Georgia residents.

You must provide these documents:

  • Official documents showing your name, Social Security number, home address, and either U.S. citizenship or lawful status in the United States.
  • A Certificate of School Enrollment (DS-1), high school diploma, or GED.
  • Proof of the successful completion of an Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP/eADAP).
  • The documentation from your Behind the Wheel program.
  • You must surrender any driver’s license, permit, or ID card you have from another state.
  • Signature of a parent, guardian, authorized driver training instructor, or authorized responsible adult. Be aware that they can also request that the state of Georgia revoke your license at any time until you turn 18.

If you are 16 or 17 years old, you must also comply with all the requirements of Senate Bill 226, also known as Joshua’s Law. This law mandates the completion of an approved driver education course, plus at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including six hours of night driving. Your parent or guardian must sign an affidavit that you completed the supervised driving requirements.

With a Class MP permit, you can ride your motorcycle during daylight hours, but may not have have passengers or ride on limited access highways. You must wear a helmet and windshield or other eye protection, such as goggles.

How Do I Get a Class M Motorcycle License?

You must be at least 17 years old to get a Class M licenses in Georgia. If you are 17, you must get the signature of a parent or other authorized person, just as for a Class MP permit, and the person who signs for you may ask that your license be revoked at any time until you are 18.

You must submit these documents to get your Class M license:

  • Official documents showing your name, Social Security number, home address, and either U.S. citizenship or lawful status in the United States.
  • You must surrender any driver’s license, permit, or ID card from another state. If you can no longer find your out-of-state license, permit, or ID card, you will have to submit a certified driving record from that state.
  • A Certificate of School Enrollment (DS-1), high school diploma, or GED, if you are 17 years old.

You must pass these tests:

  • Vision exam.
  • EITHER a Knowledge Exam and Road Skills Test OR a Georgia Motorcycle Program Basic Course.

If you are 17 years old, you must satisfy all the requirements of Joshua’s Law. Regardless of your age, you are required to wear a motorcycle helmet when operating a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle in Georgia.

Which Vehicles Require a Class M or Class MP Motorcycle License?

The following vehicles require a Class M or Class MP motorcycle license to operate:

  • Vehicle is a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle; and
  • It has a saddle instead of a seat like you would find in a car or truck; and
  • It is designed to travel with two or three wheels on the ground; and
  • It is not a tractor; and
  • It is not a moped having a 50 cc or smaller engine.

To ride a moped (50 cc or smaller engine motor-driven cycle) on Georgia roads, you must:

  • Be at least 15 years old and carry a current driver’s license, instructional permit, or limited permit.
  • Wear a motorcycle helmet.
  • Follow the rules of the road.

Your moped does not need a tag, but you are not allowed to ride it on roads with a minimum speed limit over 35 miles per hour.

You should always take your safety seriously when riding a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle. Be aware of and adhere to all motorcycle laws in Georgia. If you suffer an injury in a motorcycle accident, call the Law Office of Jason R. Schultz, P.C. at 404-474-0804 for a free consultation.

Live Chat