Georgia Motorcycle Licenses: Special Requirements and Motorcycle Insurance Primer
In order to legally drive a motorcycle in Georgia, you must meet certain licensing and insurance requirements. Failure to do so could result in fines and penalties.
Motorcycle Licenses in Georgia
Each motorcycle in the state must be titled and registered, similar to passenger vehicles. You must also have a Class M license. You have to be at least 17 years old to apply for a Class M, (although 16 year olds can apply for a permit, or a Class MP license).
When you are ready to apply, you will need to go to your local DMV and follow the steps below.
- Show the DMV agent your proof of identity, address, birth date, and U.S. citizenship. If you are 17 years old, you will also need to provide either your school attendance record or proof that you’ve graduated or a GED certificate.
- Turn in your license application. (You can pick one up there or download one online.)
- Give the agent your proof of motorcycle registration and proof of insurance.
- Take a vision test.
- Take a written exam and driving test.
- Pay either $20 for a five-year license or $32 for an eight-year license.
The above steps might be slightly different if you had a Class MP and/or have taken the Basic Riders Course. For more information about these options, contact your local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Georgia Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Georgia only requires that motorcycle owners carry liability insurance. Liability covers other people’s damages in an accident when you are at fault. Georgia is an at-fault insurance state, meaning that the insurance company that covers whoever caused the accident pays the damages.
The following are the minimum insurance coverages you’re permitted to have.
- Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage: $25,000 per accident.
The above minimums might not be enough to protect you in the event of a motorcycle accident. If your bike is worth a good bit of money, or if you don’t have health or disability insurance, you’ll want to consider purchasing additional coverage.
You can be considered partially at fault for an accident in Georgia, meaning that as long as the accident was 49 percent or less your fault, then you can recover damages. Obviously, this can be contentious between parties in an accident and motorcyclists will want to discuss any accident with a motorcycle accident attorney.
Resources for Riders in Atlanta
In addition to registration, license, and insurance requirements, the state also has safety requirements you must meet. For more information about the requirements and for other topics of interest to Atlanta motorcyclists, you might want to try to the following resources.
- The Department of Driver Service’s Basic Riders Course and other motorcycle courses
- The American Motorcycle’s page on Georgia motorcycle laws
- Atlanta Biker’s Event Calendar
- Motorcycle accident attorney Jason Schultz’s motorcycle blog