Georgia Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Laws (Part A)
Georgia has strict laws when it comes to driving under the influence (DUI). The penalties for causing a Georgia DUI accident include fines, a driver's license suspension, and the possibility of time in jail. The penalties may become stiffer when a drunken driver injures an innocent victim.
Furthermore, if a victim is injured in a Georgia DUI accident, they may be eligible for damages in a Georgia personal injury claim. To file a claim after a Georgia DUI accident, you should get the professional help of a Clayton personal injury attorney.
Georgia's Legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Limit
In Georgia, if a person operates a motor vehicle with a BAC level of .08 or above, they will be guilty of DUI. However, if a person operates a motor vehicle with a BAC of just .05, and it is shown that they were perilously operating their motor vehicle, they may also be charged with a criminal offense. Furthermore, if an underage motorist is determined to have even a .02 BAC level, they may be convicted of Georgia DUI.
Any of these situations can lead to a serious Georgia DUI accident. Therefore, the consequences for a Georgia DUI are meant to fit the crime.
Consequences After Georgia DUI
Someone who is convicted of their first offense of a Georgia DUI will face consequences such as:
- an immediate driver's license suspension for 1 year;
- a fine between $300 and $1000, plus any statutory surcharges;
- between 10 days and 12 months in jail; and
- minimum of 40 hours of community service (unless the driver is under the age of 21, in which case it is a minimum of 20 hours.)
In addition to all of this, the convicted drunk driver will have to attend a mandatory alcohol education program, and may have to go through treatment or assessment. Again, if the convicted has injured an innocent victim in a Georgia DUI accident, they may face claims by the victim in a Georgia personal injury lawsuit.
In a Georgia personal injury lawsuit, a victim may claim damages for their medical expenses, lost wages and other associated accident costs. To make a claim, you can get the help of a Clayton personal injury attorney.
Continue to Next Page >>