Consequences of a Georgia DUI
In Georgia, driving under the influence (DUI) is treated as a serious criminal offense.
Someone who is convicted of a Georgia DUI will face consequences such as:
- an administrative driver's license suspension for up to 1 year;
- a minimum fine of $300 with a maximum of $1000 (as well as court costs, and any statutory surcharges);
- a minimum of 10 days and maximum of 12 months in jail; and
- a minimum of 40 hours of community service (unless the driver was under the age of 21, in which case it is a minimum of 20 hours).
In addition to these consequences, someone who is convicted of a Georgia DUI will be required to attend an alcohol education program. They may also be required by the courts to attend treatment or assessment.
Furthermore, if someone is injured as a result of a Georgia DUI, the victim may be able to claim financial compensation. In a Georgia personal injury lawsuit, an injured victim may claim damages for their medical expenses, any pain that they suffered, and any wages that they may have lost, among other types of DUI accident-related damages.
If you have been injured as a result of a Georgia DUI accident, you may be able to claim damages in a Georgia personal injury claim. Learn more about Georgia DUI accidents and the consequences of driving drunk by visiting our article library.
Contacting a Georgia Personal Injury Attorney
A Georgia DUI accident can have devastating consequences. As the victim of a Georgia accident, you have rights that the insurance companies cannot ignore. While they have a team of lawyers working on their side, shouldn't you have experienced legal representation fighting for your best interests? Before accepting any settlement offer, contact the Law Offices of Jason Schultz to schedule a no cost consultation - 404-474-0804
Post a comment
Post a Comment to "Consequences of a Georgia DUI"To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."